France in the Schengen area

The European territory of France (mainland France)


The European territory of France is part of the Schengen Area (pdf), which encompasses multiple European States to form a common space of free movement for persons.

The Schengen Area includes the 27 following States :

  • Member States of the European Union : Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden;
  • Non-Member States of the European Union: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Helpful information: The European Union’s portal.

France's non-European territories (DROM-COM)

None of France's territories located outside Europe are part of the Schengen Area. These include :

  • The overseas départements and regions of France (DROM) :
    • Reunion;
    • French Guiana, Guadeloupe and Martinique (the three départements in the Americas);
    • Mayotte;
    • Saint-Barthélemy;
    • Saint-Martin.
  • Other local municipalities and territories of the French Republic located overseas (COM) :
    • French Polynesia;
    • New Caledonia;
    • Saint-Pierre and Miquelon ;
    • Wallis-et-Futuna;
    • The French Southern and Antarctic Lands.

Helpful information : Ministry of Overseas France website (in French only)